A cup of coffee



I can’t help but watch
While you’re sitting there sipping your coffee
Innocently you brush your hair aside
And unravel the beauty that is your face

My eye catches yours
But I cannot hold your gaze
Because looking in your eyes
Makes me weak

You let off a wry smile, gentle, almost mischievous
As if you’re trying to provoke me
That smile of yours pushes me off the edge
And makes me want to kiss those lips

But I control myself; not here, not now.
You sense my dilemma. You lean forward
Pick up your cup, and take a sip;
Savoring the taste.

I now wish I were that cup of coffee
The one you were so gently holding
And kissing just a moment ago.
I’ve lost all track of time.

You’ve just made a memory
I can’t forget.
No matter what I try and do
My mind just keeps coming to you.

And you’ve made me realize
That it doesn’t take a grand gesture
But just that little thing you did
That made me fall in love with you.

© 2013 Mihir Kamat
Inspired by today’s daily prompt.
Image courtesy of Wikimedia commons

5 thoughts on “A cup of coffee

  1. I’m a coffee-aholic so I can relate to all the sensory elements in your post. Time to take a coffee break. Thanks for that!

  2. When I was reading this wonderful piece of writing, my husband’s image was in front of me and I could relate each and every word of your poem with his expressions 🙂

    Nice !!

Leave a comment