Wish you were here


(verse one)

Sitting alone here in my chair tonight
With a packet of pictures and some postcards left behind
The radio’s playing a sad song helps with the pain
These tears they fall like the pouring rain
What do I do to make all this hurt go away?

I’ve been a fool to ever let someone like you go
I now know what I’ve been missing, now that we are through
This packet of postcards reminds me just like it was yesterday
Every moment I spend without you seems to take my life away

I wish that you were here tonight
Much more than life itself,
I wish you were here.

(verse two)

Need all the help I’d get to make the most this time
I pull up a glass and pick up a bottle of cheap wine
These pictures of you remind me of times we had
Of everything that I now need so bad
Oh what I could give up to have you stay…

I’ve been a fool to ever let someone like you go
I know what I’ve been missing, now that we are through
This packet of postcards reminds me just like it was yesterday
Every moment I spend without you completely takes my life away

I wish that you were here tonight
Much more than life itself,
I wish you were here

I wish that you were here tonight…
Much more than life itself,
I wish you were here.

© 2013 Mihir Kamat

Image courtesy of favim.com

4 thoughts on “Wish you were here

Leave a Reply

