Feeling the moonlight


I sometimes wonder to myself
Does not the moon get lonely?
To be sitting up there in the night
Looking down, so bright and lovely

He must be looking at our cities
Electric lights, like small stars twinkle
I think he must be getting jealous
As our fireworks sparkle

And then I see it; the little game
He plays with the clouds, his friends
A childish game of hide and seek
As tranquility ascends

And there she is! the lovely star
Like a diamond in the sky
She shines so sweetly, bright and young
The jewel of his eye

The fireworks stop, but the sky still shines
The moon so full and bright
And not one, not two, but a billion stars
They make the black go white!

He’s not alone, he makes it known
To my wonderful delight
I just sit and take in all the beauty
While feeling the moonlight.

© 2013 Mihir Kamat

Inspired by today’s daily prompt – Lost.

4 thoughts on “Feeling the moonlight

  1. I have a fondness for that which is an example of what it represents. This poem, like the moon, is bright, lovely, and playful. The man watching the moon, like the moon, is lonely, yet, through shared loneliness, not alone. The rhymes feel effortless. The lines that don’t rhyme have an easy rhythm that makes them feel like they do. I’m not a poet. I’m not even particularly fond of poetry. But I DO have a fondness for this fine example of what it represents.

Leave a Reply

