The painting


A myriad of colors splashed
Across the canvas, took shape
Of a beautiful woman, waiting
In the twilight.

The moon shone brightly above her
Bathing her with a radiance
That transcended beyond the real
Into the divine.

She sat quietly
In her wedding gown
She seemed to be trapped
The painting, her prison

She implored an onlooker,
To gaze into her lovely eyes,
Timeless, unflinching,
Mesmerizing

Her lips so soft,
So breathtaking,
So delicate like the rose
She held between her hands

And as I looked on
She seemed to be beckoning to me;
Asking me to unravel the mystery
Locked up in her mind

A mind packed with myriad thoughts,
Countless aspirations,
A million dreams
Which I could see in her eyes

And as I held her gaze
I couldn’t break free,
For she was a prisoner no more,
I was.

© 2013 Mihir Kamat
4 thoughts on “The painting

    • Thank you for your appreciation! It means a lot to me.

      I’ve enjoyed reading a few of your posts as well, will keep watching for more.

      Thanks again for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

